Top Menu

The Chicago Headline Club presented the winners of their 2017 Lisagor Awards this Friday, May 11 at the Union League Club of Chicago. Nearly 300 journalists from the area came together to applaud and recognize the best of Chicago journalism. The awards are named for Peter Lisagor, who was the Chicago Daily News’ Washington chief from 1959 to 1976. The winners of the 2017 Lisagor awards include journalists from newspaper, magazines, television, radio and digital media.

Among the winners and nominees, are. members of the National Association of Hispanic Journalist Chicago Chapter and other Latino journalists in the area. Our very own Teri Arvesu, the vice president of news and content at Univision Chicago, served as master of ceremonies during the dinner.

NAHJ Chicago congratulates and salutes all the Latino journalists nominated and or recognized with the prestigious award. We are proud to see more representation of Latino and other journalists of color.

While we applaud and encourage the diversity, we also recognize the excellence in journalism.


Below is the list of winners. Please note that it might not include all the Chicago Latino journalists nominated, recognized or present.

NAHJ Chicago member Sebastian Hidalgo, Best Photography during his work with City Bureau.

NAHJ Chicago member Elvia Malagon along with other staff members of the Chicago Tribune, Best Deadline Reporting

Cecilia Reyes along with other staff members of the Chicago Tribune, Best Data Journalism

Armando L. Sanchez from Chicago Tribune, Best Continuing Blog, Best Individual Blog Post, Best Feature Photo (Circulation more than 100,000)


Latino nominees include:

Mike Puente from WBEZ for Best Radio Reporter

Carolina Cruz for Best Feature Reporting during her time at City Bureau

For the complete list of the 2017 Lisagor Award Winners click here.


Feature photo: Courtesy of (@lenifaye/ Twitter)